Posted by: campkehonka | January 29, 2011

Camp Kehonka: The Gift of Ephemera

Oh, you know I just LOVE it when you new-to-the-Kehonka blog people stumble on the site and contact me to find out how to send me Kehonka photos and treasures from the past.

This week’s Gift of Ephemera is courtesy of Gretchen Hurlburt Thompson, who attended Kehonka in the mid-40s.

Camp Kehonka Gretchen Hurlburt
Gretchen Hurlburt c 1945

 

Camp Kehonka Gretchen Hurlburt
Gretchen Hurlburt c 1945

 

Gretchen enclosed the following note:

Here are some great memories! I am so glad I found a place for them.

I loved Kehonka! At that point I lived in Hingham, MA. I still remember Bally coming to my house to show a film about camp (reel to reel). My parents had others come to hear about Kehonka. Can you imagine he drove down to Hingham…..

My mother had had friends go to Kehonka – that’s how she knew about the camp.

Miss Ackley taught me to knit!

I could go on & on about wonderful memories – walking to chapel – mt. climbing – canoeing.

*****

Gretchen: thank you SO MUCH for contacting me and sharing your wonderful memories. There’s a new page on this site that showcases photos from the 1940s, compliments of you.

I will scatter the ephemera over future posts (can’t just give it ALL away in one sitting, can I????).

To close: here are a couple treats, including sketches by Gretchen, who is a watercolor painter (no surprise there….the artwork is fabulous).

Sketch by Gretchen Hurlburt c 1945

 

Sketch by Gretchen Hurlburt c 1945

Gretchen's Red Cross swimming card c 1945

 

Do you have photos or ephemera you want to share on here? Shoot me an e-mail at cheryl at luckygingerstudio dot com!

Leave a Reply

Categories

